Oriire North Local Council Development Area is one of the thirty-five (35) newly created LCDA in Oyo State. It was carved out together with her sister LCDA i.e. Oriire South LCDA from Oriire Local Government with its headquarters at Ikoyi-Ile, through the Oyo State of Nigeria Gazette No. 21, volume 41, of 20th October, 2016. This was to complement the existing Local Governments in the State with the aim of making Government and dividends of democracy closer to people at the grass root.

Oriire North LCDA, with its headquarters at Olokoto, is located along Ogbomoso-Igbeti Road. It is bounded in the North by Olorunsogo Local Government, Igbeti; in the South by Oriire Local Government, Ikoyi-Ile; in the East by Asaa Local Government in Kwara State; while to the West, it shares boundary with the Old Oyo National Park Forest Reserve.

There are more than two hundred (200) towns and villages (Communities) in the Oriire North LCDA and some of the notable ones beside Olokoto, the Headquarters of LCDA, include: Kajola, Adafila, Elerukanfila, Baba-Eko, Igbori, Onilaili Dogo, Oloka, Omowale, Eseke and others.

The traditional occupation of people in the LCDA is farming and they produce arable crops such as Yam, Maize, Cassava, Guinea Corn and the likes.

Furthermore, the Local Council Development Area is blessed with markets which enhance commercial activities in the LCDA and some of the markets are Adafila Market, Omowale Market, Igbori Market and Eseke market.